Home Derby Brackets And Participants Announced

Jul 13, 2015; Cincinnati, OH, USA; National League third baseman Todd Frazier (21) of the Cincinnati Reds reacts during the 2015 Home Run Derby the day before the MLB All Star Game at Great American Ballpark. Mandatory Credit: David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports

Chicago White Sox Todd Frazier will defend his Home Run Derby Championship against a stacked bracket of worthy competitors during the All-Star festivities on Monday at San Diego’s Petco Park. Frazier won last year’s derby, defeating the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Joc Pederson in the finals.

Brackets were based off homerun totals, which led to the seedings announced on ‘SportsCenter’ Thursday night. Frazier will be the No. 2 seed this year as he attempts to win the derby back-to-back.

Baltimore Orioles Mark Trumbo, who currently leads the majors with 26 home runs, will be the derby’s No. 1 seed. Trumbo will take on Los Angeles Dodgers Corey Seager, who has 17 homers this season.

Frazier will take on No. 7 seed Carlos Gonzalez, who has 18 homers this season with the Colorado Rockies and is heavily rumored to be on the trading block.

Other matches that were announced include:

No. 4 seed Robinson Cano of the Seattle Mariners (20 homers) taking on No. 5 seed Giancarlo Stanton of the Miami Marlins (19 homers). No. 3 seed Adam Duvall of the Cincinnati Reds (22 homers) matching up with No. 6 seed Wil Myers of the host San Diego Padres (19 homers).