Connect with us


NASCAR Announces NEW Line -up for 2012 Bud Shootout



On Wednesday, NASCAR announced the new line up of the Bud Shootout. Which gives new competitors the chance to make the list to compete in the 2012 Bud Shootout which launches speed weeks at Daytona International Speedway for the 34th straight year.

The event is scheduled for February 18, with a start time of 8:10pm ET on FOX and will also be broadcasted on MRN live nationally.

The criteria for making the event is based upon the following qualifications (with eligibility based on a driver having been active in the NSCS during the 2011 season):

  •  The highest ranked 25 competitors in the 2011 NSCS driver points

  •  Previous winners at Daytona International Speedway, including the Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, and previous Shootout events.

“By taking the top 25 competitors in last year’s driver points and combining that with former race winners at Daytona, you have all the ingredients for an extremely deep and talented field of drivers for the 2012 Shootout,” said Robin Pemberton, NASCAR vice president of competition. “When you take a look at the roster of drivers that this entails, I have to believe this is one of the most competitive fields that have ever been assembled for this event.”

The race will once again be 75-laps (187.5 miles), while consisting of two segments (25 and 50-laps). It is also important to note that both green-flag and yellow-flag laps will count.

Between segments there will be a 10-minute pit stop, allowing teams to pit to change tires, add fuel and make normal chassis adjustments. However, changing of springs, shock absorbers or rear-ends will not be permitted during the event.

The starting positions will once again be determined by a blind-draw at the annual Bud Shootout Draw Party on Friday, February 17 at 8pm ET located on the SPEED stage.

Now the question is: Who are the drivers that make the cut? Here is the run down of the guys that could have the opportunity to win that money:

2011 Top 25 Driver Points

Tony Stewart
Carl Edwards
Kevin Harvick
Matt Kenseth
Brad Keselowski
Jimmie Johnson
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Jeff Gordon
Denny Hamlin
Ryan Newman
Kurt Busch
Kyle Busch
Clint Bowyer
Kasey Kahne
AJ Allmendinger
Greg Biffle
Paul Menard
Martin Truex Jr.
Marcos Ambrose
Jeff Burton
Juan Pablo Montoya
Mark Martin
David Ragan
Joey Logano
Brian Vickers

Others (How these drivers met the criteria)

Bill Elliott (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Shootout)
Geoff Bodine (Daytona 500, Shootout)
Derrike Cope (Daytona 500)
Michael Waltrip (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)
Jamie McMurray (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)
Trevor Bayne (Daytona 500)
Terry Labonte (Shootout)
Ken Schrader (Shootout)

As always this is going to be a great race to watch and speedweek is always a great time of the year for all NASCAR fans!